top of page

Venice

Hi all,

The first part of my ongoing travel series is Venice.

I have been to Venice about 3-4 years ago now, and to this day it is one of my favourite cities in Europe. Venice was one of the cities I visited during my two week long trip around Italy, because of this I haven't spent that much time there, only two days. Although this was such a short time, I definitely had fun.

One of the biggest attractions which most tourists participate in when they travel to Venice is...Gondola Ride. To be honest I was bit worried at the start due to being a little bit seasick, but I am glad that this didn't stop me from taking a ride. It was a really nice experience that was relaxing and quiet, compared to the busy laud alleys of Venice which are filled with tourists and souvenir stalls.

Another big part of visiting Venice are the Carnival masks. You can find these masks at every stall and some shops, as they are widely available they do come with a variety of different price tags, some of these are cheaper and other much more expensive. Therefore everyone is able to find out which suits them and fits the budget. I still remember walking into a small store in one of the alleys and finding the most gorgeous mask, to then find out it costs way over 1000 euros.

As I have said previously the small alleys between the buildings in Venice are extremely busy and laud, although this is the case it is still a pleasant experience to walk along these alleys. These small tight alleys give Venice are really cosy feel. Also because they are filled with souvenir stalls, it is extremely easy for tourists to find little souvenirs to take back home with them.

We all know that Italy is well known for their love for coffee, and being a massive coffee lover myself even at the age of 17 (which I was at the time of the trip) I knew I had to try a coffee in every city that I visit in Italy. This being the case I stopped in a small corner cafe along one of the alleys to try one. To be honest I can't actually remember how the coffee tasted or the name of the cafe, but I do remember the cafe being filled with various painting and carnival masks on the walls, which gave it a very different artistic feeling compared to any other cafe that I have ever been in. Still to this day I haven't found a cafe which reflects that atmosphere.

There is so much that I still have to say about this trip but the most important part is that it was definitely a lovely experience and I would love to visit Venice one more time in the future, maybe this time for a bit longer so I can try more local cafes.

I hope you have enjoyed this post, and keep an eye out for the next one!

Natalia


TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page