top of page

Rome

Hi all,

This is the next part of my travel series, still sticking the the theme of Italy.

Rome was probably the city in Italy that I had the highest expectations for mainly due to it being so large and being the capital city. Truth be told it wasn't exactly what I expected but I still enjoyed it.

The easiest method of transportation in Rome is the Metro, it is extremely easy especially if you have used a metro system before. The 3 day pass with unlimited access costs around 18 euros which is worth getting, especially since a lot of major attractions and landmarks are spaced out between each other, often not being walking distance.

The Colosseum is a major landmark in Rome, and a place that is really easy to find. There is a fee to pay if you want to enter, which I didn't as it wasn't something that really interested me. But the building on the outside does look extraordinary and is defiantly a must to see. Whats important to remember is that it is extremely busy, with the surrounding streets being filled with tourists, residence and individuals selling souvenirs, therefore as a tourist you need to keep an eye on your safety as theft is common in places like this.The Roman Forum is also a major landmark, and since it is located close to The Colosseum by metro, so it is a good idea to visit on the same day.

Just like in Venice I have had to try the coffee in Rome, especially a proper espresso as it seemed to be the most popular coffee beverage to have in the capital city. The cafe which I visited reminded me of various other local cafes in big cities, the only difference is that there was a wider choice of speciality coffees to try.

Another thing that everyone who loves Italian food has to do when they go to Rome is visit various local restaurants. Trust me when you try a pizza in Italy you will realise the difference in taste comparison to pizza that you can get in England.

As you can see Rome is definitely a much more historic destination to visit in Italy, and compared to Venice I am not that interested in going again.

I hope you enjoyed this post, and definitely visit Rome in the future if you are really interested in architecture.

Natalia


TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page